Peaches and Plumbs Booksellers

Poems by Marianne Moore


Poems by Marianne Moore



MARIANNE MOORE (1887-1974) was one of the most innovative poets of the twentieth century, often placed on par with contemporaries such as Wallace Stevens, Ezra Pound, T.S. Eliot, and William Carlos Williams, all of whom admired her greatly.

Widely read and appreciated during her own lifetime, Moore received numerous honors and awards. In addition to the Bollingen Prize in 1951, she also won the National Book Award and a Pulitzer Prize.

In his introduction to Moore’s Selected Poems (1935), T.S. Eliot stated, “My conviction, for what it is worth, has remained unchanged for the last fourteen years: that Miss Moore’s poems form part of the small body of durable poetry written in our time,” and he credited her with one of the poet’s greatest accomplishments, that of “maintaining the life of the English language.”

Some of her collections of poems include: Observations (1924), Selected Poems (1935), The Pangolin and Other Verse (1936), Like a Bulwark (1956), O to Be a Dragon (1959), and The Arctic Fox (1964).

Marianne Moore died in New York City in 1974.

*This is a reproduction of the Egoist Press edition of “Poems” published in 1921.

Add To Cart