Peaches and Plumbs Booksellers

The Apocrypha


The Apocrypha


The Apocrypha ('hidden things') is a selection of books originally printed in the 1611 King James Bible, and published here in a superlative new digital collection.

They were positioned between the Old and New Testament and were a part of the KJV for 274 years until being removed in 1885 A.D.

The Apocrypha were written concurrently with the Old Testament, but were not officially accepted as part of the Bible when the Hebrew 'canon' was set.

The writings of The Apocrypha run the whole gamut of literary genres: histories, romances, devotional works, proverbs and sermons. And flowing all through The Apocrypha is the power, wonder, and everlasting love of Jesus Christ.

Fragments of the Dead Sea Scrolls dating back to before 70 A.D. contained parts of The Apocrypha in Hebrew, including Sirach and Tobit.

Many claim The Apocrypha should never have been included in the first place, raising doubt about its validity and believing it was not God-inspired (for instance, a reference about magic seems inconsistent with the rest of the Bible: Tobit chapter 6, verses 5-8).

Others believe it is valid and that it should never have been removed—that it was considered part of the Bible for nearly 2,000 years before it was removed a little more than 100 years ago.

Many complement parts of the Old Testament and readers will recognize some familiar Biblical characters in the narratives, such as Daniel and Esther.

Books of the Apocrypha:





Additions to Esther

Wisdom of Solomon



Letter of Jeremiah

Prayer of Azariah


Bel and the Dragon

Prayer of Manasseh



Add To Cart