Peaches and Plumbs Booksellers

Tales of My Landlord


Tales of My Landlord


Sir Walter Scott’s Tales of My Landlord is comprised of two of his classic novels: Old Mortality, and The Black Dwarf.

Perhaps the finest and certainly the most readable of Scott's novels, Old Mortality is a swift-moving historical romance that pits a classical hero against the forces of fanaticism in seventeenth-century Scotland—the period known as "the killing time."

Morton is one of the "people's heroes" who challenges King Charles II and changes the course of Scottish history.

In The Black Dwarf (Sir Edward Mauley, a hermit regarded by the locals as being in league with the Devil) becomes entangled in an intricate tale of love, revenge, betrayal, and a threatened forced marriage.

While imprisoned for manslaughter, Mauley learns that his friend Vere has betrayed him by marrying his intended bride.

Vere lives nearby with his daughter Isabella.

As Vere's expenditures have brought his lands under Mauley's control, Vere flees the country.

Revealing his true identity, Mauley bestows his fortune upon Isabella.

Mauley disappears and the ultimate fate of The Black Dwarf remains a mystery.

SIR WALTER SCOTT (1771 – 1832) was a Scottish historical novelist, playwright and poet remembered for his extensive literary works and his political engagement. Many of his works remain classics of both English-language literature and of Scottish literature. Famous titles include Ivanhoe, Rob Roy, Old Mortality, The Lady of the Lake, Waverley, The Heart of Midlothian and The Bride of Lammermoor.


Add To Cart